Fruitful

IMGP6958My lime tree has fruit on it!  As I was walking past, inhaling the beautiful scent of its blossoms, I noticed a little green bulb at the tip of a branch.  The more I looked, the more I found.

IMGP6961Many times over the last three years, I have despaired of ever seeing fruit on this tree.  Most citrus takes three years to produce, but one of the reasons I bought this lime tree was that I was told it would be able to bear fruit right away.  When it didn’t the first year, I wasn’t terribly surprised.  After all, it had just been transplanted.

IMGP6962Last year, I had a brief hope that I would see some limes when it bloomed a few tentative blooms, but they were blown off by a violent storm and nothing more happened.  Since then, I have started using the citrus fertilizer on the tree regularly, and have been thrilled with the growth.  I don’t know whether it was that or maturity that led to the apparent bounty it holds right now, or a combination of the two.

IMGP6969Even way down at the bottom of the tree, where it seems that the sun might not hit, I am seeing little limes.  This may be my most thrilling gardening moment ever!

4 thoughts on “Fruitful

Leave a Reply

