Promises

IMGP6142My little lime tree that I planted three years ago teased me last year with its blossoms that never came to fruition.  Soon after I saw them, we had a significant windstorm that blew them all off.  This year I have high hopes that I will see fruit, however, partly because I have been tending to the tree more, and partly because there are many more blossoms than I saw last year, along with considerable new growth showing.

IMGP6133It was wonderful to be greeted with the sight of full-blown blossoms this morning as I left the house in the rain.  White stars dotted the green leaves, promising to become limes for me to enjoy.

IMGP6139Lower down on the tree, a bud just beginning to open sticks out its tongue at those passing by, waiting for a passing bee to fertilize it.

IMGP6136The low-lying buds are still tightly closed, not quite ready to bloom and grow.  With a little bit of luck, I will have limes a little later on.  Unfortunately, I have managed to kill all my mint, so there will be no home-grown mojitos for me.

2 thoughts on “Promises

  1. In the third picture, they almost look like bean blossoms. Have no fear about the mint. You can plant a new crop. Meanwhile, I’d like to know how you killed it off as it’s trying to take over parts of my garden…

Leave a Reply

