Sunflowers and Ginger

 

IMGP4425It seems that I have done this theme 3 years in a row, but I just can’t help it.  Every year, these strange stalks my son planted suddenly blossom into the most cheerful, bright yellow blossoms.  It makes me smile every time I see them, especially since they always seem to bring some cooler weather with them.

IMGP4403And every year at about the same time, the ginger flowers as well.  These odd-looking flowers are full of a spicy-smelling liquid that you can see just by squeezing the blooms a little.  This type of ginger is well-suited to Gainesville, since it loves swampy land and hot weather.

IMGP4401Unlike the sunflowers, ginger is beautiful all year, with bright green foliage that grows to about 4′ tall.  It is one of my favorite plants in my yard.

 

Leave a Reply

