Going Buggy

IMGP2764
Gainesville seems to have bugs everywhere I look lately, even more than usual.  Most of them I would rather never see again, but dragonflies always delight me.  They are everywhere right now, even my own back yard.

IMGP2785This little guy was just hanging on on a grass stalk, watching me.

IMGP2774They make great subjects because they love to pose on things.  This beautiful blue one casts its shadow on one of my chair.

IMGP2833They also come in a lot of different colors.  The blue and red ones are what I see most often, but there are also green ones, brown ones, and yellow ones.  This is one of the brightest ones I have ever seen.

IMGP2761It’s fun to watch dragonflies flit around, dashing and darting with their wings catching the light.  They can be amazingly quick, and nearly impossible for me to capture as they fly, but fortunately, they take frequent breaks where I can sneak up to them and shoot them.

 

 

Leave a Reply

