Beach birds

My daughter and husband visited this weekend, rather than me going up there, and since she’d never been, we had to go to the beach.  What a shame, to be forced to go to the beach when it’s about 80 degrees out.  I know you are all crying for me right now, aren’t you?

Okay, I’ll admit it.  I loved it.  The weather was wonderful; warm enough to swim, cool enough to stay out all day.  Life really doesn’t get much better than this.  And once again, I am dreaming of owning a condo on this beach and living here forever.  It’s kind of funny, because I’ve seen prettier beaches.  Pensacola, Sarasota, South Beach, and Palm beach are all prettier, with clearer water and nicer sand.  But this beach just feels like home to me.  It’s where I want to be, which surprises me every time I realize it.  Florida took 15 years to claim me, but I finally feel at home here.

Anyway, my title promised you birds, didn’t it?  Birds it shall be.  Birds on a wire.  Pigeons, even.  I have never thought of pigeons as beach birds, but I guess even they get tired of the city from time to time and have to find another place to be.

Pelicans fly in formation, swooping down the beach.  They are amazingly quick, and wonderfully prehistoric looking.  For those of you who might never have seen one, each of these birds has a wingspan greater than 6′ across, so seeing all of them flying together is really impressive.

*****

And seeing them sit together on the poles out in the ocean is just really perfect.  They will sit up there forever, then suddenly one (or all of them) will swoop down over the water, almost touching the surface.

The gulls sit on the poles as well, although they seem to be sleeping rather than looking for fish when they’re up there.

The crowds of birds out today was really incredible.  Seagulls in the hundreds waded along the shore, with plovers mixed in among them.  These are birds that have no fear of people at all, and just stay right where they are when someone walks by.  They will actually attack people for their food, so when you see  them hanging around, you should probably lay your picnic out elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

