A tourist in my own state

When I got home tonight, the first thing MJ said was, “Can we go to the beach?”  Well, who am I to deny a child that kind of pleasure?  So even though it looked like it was about to rain, and even though I was too tired to keep my eyes open, I took off for the beach.

This time I went to the actual Daytona Beach, which I enjoyed every bit as much as I did the one a little farther south.  And I drove right past the Daytona Speedway.  It’s a pretty impressive place, which I will have to share with you one of these days.  They have daily tours, so I might even go inside.  We were in a hurry to get to the beach today, so we didn’t stop.  I’m glad we didn’t, because I would have missed so much wonderful light if I had.  Oh, and those people up there?  I don’t know a single one of them.

It was sunset, all pink and gold and glowing.  The whitecaps were pink in the setting sun, while the water itself still looked blue.  Sunset on a rainy day might not seem like a great time for the beach, but it was a beautiful time for it.

From where we were, we could see the rides on the boardwalk, which we’ll have to do another day. Or at least, we’ll have to get closer to it one of these days.  I’m not a fan of ferris wheels, and I’m pretty sure I don’t want to ride the swing that goes about a mile in the sky, but I do want to walk on the boardwalk and see what else there is to ride.

The beach is really wide, with plenty of room for lots of people.  I’m sure that it is busier than this at times, but it’s nice to have a quiet time on the ocean sometimes, especially when the view is this breathtaking.

While I was watching MJ play in the waves, a group of pelicans flew by, riding the currents and searching for food.  Unlike geese, pelicans fly single file, in a long line which undulates with their movements.

And now, I must bid you all good night.  I am falling asleep as I write.  This working stuff has gotten me worn out.

3 thoughts on “A tourist in my own state

  1. It has been so long since you graduated, and have been looking for a job so long, that you are out of shape and in need of “a work out, on the job training” Oh what fun, work, work, work, like the seven dwarfs singing their song

Leave a Reply

