Da crane! Da crane!

Let me start off by saying that my new job is in an industrial park, not out in the country, not on the beach, it’s in an industrial park.  Now, I don’t know about you, but I don’t generally think of industrial parks as the best places to observe nature, but when I walked out last night, I saw them (not that I had my camera with me).  A pair of sandhill cranes, just wandering around, looking perfectly happy to be there, in the middle of an industrial park.

True, this is Florida, and there are plenty of detention/retention ponds in and around the buildings, which means there are probably plenty of little fish and frogs in there, too.  I guess that takes care of their food supply.  And since this is Florida, there are plenty of plants growing, which takes care of their shelter.  Maybe this isn’t such a strange place to find large wild birds after all.

Anyway, I am certainly glad I brought my camera today, because there they were again tonight when I left.  It is a nice way to end the workday, don’t you think?

3 thoughts on “Da crane! Da crane!

  1. They like the skydivers and airplanes for company in the skies. The airport is about 1/4 mile from your office. So like the old tv add, don’t remember the airline, with the bird reclining on the tail of the plane, and saying “The Oooonllly way to fly!”

Leave a Reply

