Downtown farmers market

Two whole days without posting?  Did you think I abandoned you?  Honestly, on Monday, there was no way I could find time for even a short post, and yesterday, I just wasn’t in the mood to like anything.

Today I ended up going to the farmers market downtown.  It’s not my usual choice for farmers markets, since it’s a lot farther away than my Saturday market on 441, but since I haven’t been able to make it to that one in a while, I headed to this one.

It seems to be pepper season right now.

And eggplant season.

And tomato season.  My tomatoes must be a little out of sync with the rest of the area (although I am happy to report that there is one growing right now!).

*****

This market is a little different from my usual one.  The smell of patchouli hangs in the air here, partly from soaps and candles that are sold here, and partly from perfumed people walking about in well-preserved clothing from the 60s and 70s.

There are also many stands with hand-made food, such as empanadas, pierogis, and kielbasa.  Unfortunately for me, that food isn’t sitting out looking beautiful, probably due to some pesky food safety regulations or something.  But the bromeliads from the orchid stand do photograph very nicely, so I’ve included one of them for you!

Is there anywhere but Florida where a farmers market has orchid stands?

4 thoughts on “Downtown farmers market

  1. Very nice! I visited my first farmers’ market on Sunday, much smaller than this one. However, they did have orchids there, it is in Maitland. I have a post about it on my blog. But I think Maitland is too far for you sorry to say.

Leave a Reply

