Impending

You may wonder why I love storms so much, what it is that draws me to them.  It isn’t something that I can fully explain, but there are a few things that I can share with you.  Look at this sky, and the light it brings!  That’s one of the things I love about storms.  Dark clouds in the middle of the day make everything look like an oil painting.

While it isn’t something I can actually show you, the temperature dropped considerably as the clouds came in.  It would be impossible not to get excited about that around here.

There wasn’t much wind with this storm, which is a little disappointing because I love the wind.  That power seems to energize everything when the wind whips up.  To me, wild wind is one of the most exciting things in the world.

I heard lots of thunder, but only saw a few quick flashes of lighting.  I admire those people who can take great shots of lightning, because mostly, by the time I see it, it’s too late to whip the camera up and get the shot.  There weren’t any bolts that I saw that would have made one of those beautiful shots anyway, so I guess that’s just as well.

I’m not a great fan of roller coasters, scary movies, or extreme sports, but I love the thrill of a storm.  For most of them, there’s very little real danger.  Sure, the power might go out, or I might get really unlucky and lightning might strike the house.  In a hurricane, there is very real danger, although for the most part, it’s not terribly hard to stay fairly safe.  It doesn’t matter, though, even the biggest hurricane thrills me.  The aftermath, not so much.  Refrigerators full of rotten meat are not the kind of thrill I like.

The drama of the clouds as they roll in is incredible!  They move as if they are alive, changing the quality of the light second by second.  It’s amazing to watch as they sweep in and grow denser.

*****

Then of course, there are the flowers that rely on the rain.  The wonderful light filtered through the clouds makes them even more beautiful, doesn’t it?

4 thoughts on “Impending

  1. I’ve seen plenty of dark clouds here lately too. That’s one thing I notice when I go to America – how bright everything is – it hurts my eyes. When the dark clouds roll in or the persistent grey ones, you can look into all the corners…

Leave a Reply

