Chasing flowers in the rain

Yeah, I suppose you don’t really chase things that stand still, but I was running from one to the other, so isn’t that a little like chasing them?

In any case, I finally made my way over to a park that my husband keeps telling me I should go to just because he likes it when he drives past.  Since it’s a small, very grassy park that doesn’t look trailsy, I’ve been resisting.  It looks like I went over there at the right time, though, because there are a lot of these beautiful red hibiscus flowering right now.  There really aren’t a lot of flowers along most of the trails right now, other than very small, weedy-looking things.  Don’t get me wrong; I love weedy flowers, but it’s nice to see some showier ones, too.

Oh, and in case my title didn’t warn you, it was raining when we got there.  For once I had an umbrella, so I didn’t have to worry about my camera.  That’s a good thing, because I wouldn’t even have made it over to the flowers without it.

There really aren’t any  trails, but I found a pond that was really pretty.  Probably a retention pond, but it was still very nice.  I’m not sure what the white building over there is, but it reflects in the pond so nicely, doesn’t it?

Different types of dragonflies were flitting around all over the place.  I kept seeing them just as they flew away, which means you only get to see two of them.  Besides these ones, there were ones with striped orange and brown wings, and iridescent blues and greens.  None of them were very big, which makes it even harder to capture them.

The pink hibiscus were all closed up, so I guess I will have to come back sometime soon for those.

4 thoughts on “Chasing flowers in the rain

Leave a Reply

