A cautionary tale that ends with flowers

As the fourth named tropical storm of the season, TS Debbie, rumbles around in the Gulf, this is the sight that greets me when I look out my front door; my cedar tree, which does display its raindrops well, and my banana tree, which was blowing around in the wind gusts.

Now for the cautionary tale that you must pay attention to.  There is a reason, dear reader, why so many people work in raised gardens.  Many of them think that it is because it’s easier on their backs and knees.  Others may think it is because they like the way it looks.  Both of these may be quite valid reasons for raising a garden bed, but when you live in a place where torrential rains may be considered a way of life, they are probably not the most important ones.

This is what happens when you choose the lowest spot in your yard for your garden and don’t bother to raise the bed.  It’s entirely possible that the tags on some of these plants said something about good drainage, but it’s a little late to worry about that now.

Today’s rain did get me working on something I have been wanting to do for a while.  The light coming in my kitchen window was very beautiful, and I have these peonies, which were a Mother’s Day gift but that dried quite nicely, and I really wanted to compose a shot.  So I got out my white boards, cleared off the counter, and snapped off a few shots.

It is possible that I’ve mentioned this before, but way back on my first stint in college, I majored in photography.  Then I realized that I wasn’t really someone who wanted to schlep around to galleries and sell my photos, so I took a nice position with the government and largely forgot about photography since I didn’t have much time or money to devote to it.  Besides that, I started wearing glasses and that really changed the way I saw thing through the lens.

I loved studio work back then, composing a scene and working to get the lighting just right.  I loved playing with the lights, rearranging things to get the feeling I wanted to convey, and everything about working in a studio.  If I didn’t have all kinds of hippy, first-do-no-harm ideas that I usually keep well hidden, I probably would have gone into advertising, because that was exactly the kind of photos I enjoyed making the most.

Today, I got to do a little of that playing around.  I used MJ as my assistant and had her hold various reflective surfaces to help fill in a little light here and there, and I happily snapped away, finally giving my peonies a little of the attention they deserve.

****SHAMELESS PLUG:  If you enjoy my photos, please visit my shop on Zenfolio and have a look around.  I’m adding more all the time, so let me know if there’s anything in particular that you want to see.*****

3 thoughts on “A cautionary tale that ends with flowers

  1. Debbie snapped my lovely Japanese sunflower in half… She was forming a towering, lovely tunnel over our pathway, dagnabit! Hope you fared better… 🙂

      • Heh! I’m convinced we had the beginnings of a strange wind event…. We had tornado warnings all day, and I was watching debris fly perpendicular for some time. At least those plants grow quickly, SIGH.

Leave a Reply

