Caught in a web

My friend Jenn came all the way from Jacksonville to go to the Devil’s Millhopper this evening, but when we got there, we found out it closed at 5.  That could be an important thing to remember, but I’ll probably forget it again.  However, we didn’t let that stop us from having a good time, we just changed venue and went out to San Felasco Hammock, the state park, not the city one.

*****

Everywhere we looked were beautiful spider webs, which is somewhat unusual in the afternoon, since they usually get torn up pretty early in the day.  It can be a little difficult to capture webs in the bright sunlight, but having Jenn along to help find the best vantage points was wonderful.

This one was absolutely huge, but I almost missed it, and almost walked right into it.  Fortunately for me, and the spider who worked for hours making it, Jenn saw it.

She also helped me find the bluebird in the tree above when it flew away as I was trying to capture it.  While I would have loved to get a clearer picture of its coloring, I was happy to capture it at all.  Do you see it sitting there in the middle of the leaves?

And she was the first to see this deer, while I was looking at the wonderful root.  We tracked ti down to try to capture it, but this was the best shot I could get.  Deer are pretty fast.  You have to look really closely to see it, so look for the blob of white in roughly the center of the frame, and that’s the tail.  You can see a bit of the body as well.

While I was taking the photo of the web between the ferns, Jenn was looking at this shimmering orb.  Companionship and extra eyes?  It just doesn’t get any better than this.

3 thoughts on “Caught in a web

Leave a Reply

