Lazy lake

*****

Honeysuckles down by the lake made me think of summers past, and the warming air reinforced that feeling today.  I felt like being a bit lazy today, and didn’t bother to venture any farther than my lake.  In fact, I felt too lazy to even walk around the block to snap a shot of my neighbor’s blooming gardenias.

Actually, I will blame some of that laziness on excitement.  Maybe these photos don’t look like much to you, but I thought they were ridiculously awesome.  Do you know what that is?  It really isn’t just the mud, it’s so much more than that!  This is a gator print, from when a larger gator was seeking shade under the dock.

This is why I always start out ON the dock, rather than going straight to the shore.  Gators might not be as deadly on the land as they are in the water, but it’s still not a good idea to walk right up to them.  From the dock, I could see that a gator had been there, and knew to approach the shore with caution.  He had already left by the time I got there, but probably not long before.

The texture that’s left in the mud amazes me.  It is so perfect, and so beautiful.  I’m a little disappointed that I didn’t get to see him lying there, but if I had, I would never have seen this, the palimpsest of the gator, which is in a way even more fascinating than the creature himself.

As it was, the only wildlife I really captured was this anhinga sunning on a log.  In previous years, that log has been underwater, but  it has been so dry for so long that the lake is about three feet below normal levels.  There are many trees sticking up that I’ve never seen until recently, which is both fascinating and scary.  It is especially worrying that almost every day the air carries the scent of smoke from the fires that seem to be always burning.

It amazes me that even with this unusual dryness, the foliage remains so vibrant.  Most trees, such as this magnolia, can handle drier weather, since their roots run deep.  However, this is a condition that can be devastating in a wind event, because the dried soil does not hold the roots as firmly.  Should a hurricane hit one of the dry areas along the coast, many more trees would be lost than usual.

*****

Let’s just hope we get a lot more rain before anything hits, since that usually is the way of things.  And since I am as far inland as it is possible to be in Florida, I will just relax and enjoy the scenery.

4 thoughts on “Lazy lake

    • They’re usually pretty safe to be around, unless you are swimming with them. Humans aren’t their favorite food, but it’s best not to get too close!

Leave a Reply

