Sinking in a gentle pool of wine

As soon as I saw the ripples spreading out through the clouds in the lake, I knew why I had come to the lake today.  Even though I had driven up through Alachua in the fog this morning, I didn’t feel inspired by it as I often do.  Somehow the fog seemed too grey, even though the sun was bright through it.  But when I got to the lake and saw those ripples, suddenly Jesus Christ Superstar started playing in my head, and I knew that I was in the right place to shed my cares.

*****

All week, I have been busy, driving more than I want to, taking care of things that I’d rather not, running into bureaucracy at every turn, and on top of it all, my knee aches and my throat is sore, so I haven’t even really been able to run much.  Watching the water helped to counteract all that.  The leaves littering its surface reminded me of yesterday’s rain.  Standing on the dock, I realized that the temperature was in that perfect place where you are not even aware that there is a temperature.  I could hear an owl calling on the other side of the lake, one of the crazy sounding ones that sounds like a kid pretending to be a monkey.  How can you not feel happy hearing that?

The first few times I saw these ripples, I wasn’t sure what had hit the water because it wasn’t raining and nothing seemed to be falling off the trees, but then I saw it.  A turtle stuck his head up, looked around, and popped back under the water.  Then another one did it, and another.  Unlike turtles plopping into the water from a log, these guys were quiet about it.  No sound at all.

*****

There is probably some wonderful, deeply philosophical connection I could make to my desire to photograph reflections today, but the only reason I can say for it is that they were beautiful.  The blurring of distinctions of reflection and reality that sometimes occurs in these photos may be philosophical, but I will leave it up to you to discern what that means, because I am just too tired to think of it now.  So, enjoy the beauty, or get lost in deep thoughts. 

2 thoughts on “Sinking in a gentle pool of wine

  1. “Don’t disturb me now I can see the answers
    Till this evening is this morning life is fine…”
    I haven’t listened to that in years. fun stuff. Beautiful photos. I love the turtle story.

Leave a Reply

