Flowers in the rain

There may be nothing so beautiful as fields of flowers in the rain, especially when it has been as dry as Florida has been lately.  And when those flowers happen to grow between a road and a railroad track, they are completely irresistible.

The watercolor perfection of these flowers, yellows and pinks and purples all softened by the rain drew me in and pulled me out of my car.  Other cars passed by me, certainly filled with people who wondered at the sight of a woman in the rain with her camera, but I knew that this beauty would be fleeting.  Rain doesn’t generally last long in Florida, and the sun was climbing higher in the sky.  This would be my only chance to capture the flowers like this, so I kept on, trudging through the wet landscape to find the best angles.  Let the people point and laugh at the lady with the camera in the rain!

The headlights on the road offer a nice counterpoint to the flowers, so even if they were laughing at me and my camera out there getting wet, the last laugh’s on them.  They will be forevermore memorialized in this photo.

While I was reveling in the beauty of the rain and the flowers, thrilling myself with my willingness to let total strangers see me acting like an idiot, the heavens opened up.  Now, I really don’t mind getting wet myself.  I have been known to put on my running clothes just because a nice rain was starting, but my camera?  That’s an entirely different story.  What would I do if the rain destroyed it?  It wasn’t like I was carrying a bumbershoot or anything, since I’ve never managed to get one to last more than one use.  So I snapped one last shot, and ran back to the car.

I’m sure you already know that the rain slowed down considerably as soon as I drove away.  In the end, I’m pretty sure we didn’t really get enough to even help put out a fire or two.  But it was nice while it lasted.

Oh, and my camera is fine.  Apparently these things are pretty well sealed against the weather.

7 thoughts on “Flowers in the rain

  1. I love those photos! You encouraged me to stop in weird places to take photos; place I wouldn’t normally stop at because people might make fun of me or say rude comments >_<

    By the way, I've been following your blog for a while and it's very impressive. If you don't mind, I'd like to link to it in a post I am going to make at the end of the month about my short blogging experience, as one of my 2 favourite blogs so far. . .

Leave a Reply

