Here comes the rain again

Sometimes I have to search for what makes me happy, and other times it just comes to me.  Today was one of those days when it just came to me, as I was stopped at a red light.  I looked over and and saw that the sky was dark, dark grey.  There was a tree across the street, and at the very top of it, a black bird was sitting.  A dark sky like this makes the green of the tree stand out, while the lighting makes the scene seem almost painterly.

Now, as much as I would like to claim to be an expert on everything, most of you know by now that I am not.  This bird, which I thought was a common crow at first, is not one that I recognize right away.  He is mostly black, but a close look reveals a white throat.  There is a woodpeckerish look to him, but I don’t know of any with quite so much black and so little white.  If you recognize him, please let me know.

*****

Knowing that it was about to rain, and being loathe to miss a second of it, I hurried through my shopping trip and made it out before the storm began.  Then, just as I got home, the sky opened to drench the land.  I ran to the porch where I could safely turn around to photograph the beauty of a Florida cloudburst.  While I didn’t manage to capture any lightning or individual raindrops, I think this does show some of what I love about thunderstorms in Florida.

One of these days, I’ll manage to capture a storm on a lake or a bay.  For now, you just get to see the rain in my own front yard.

3 thoughts on “Here comes the rain again

  1. When I was a kid (in the seventies), we used to drive down to Florida to visit my grandparents every summer in Ft. Lauderdale and later, in West Palm Beach. Those are some of my favorite memories. When I was 19, I lived in the Tampa area for 2 years. It was a terrible time in my life but I still loved the place and manage to feel nostalic about Florida. Your photos seem to capture a lot of what I loved about it, so thanks. I really enjoy your blog.

  2. Pingback: The sky is burnin’ « Florida Behind the Scenes

Leave a Reply

