The Flower Fields of Gilchrist County

Warning:  this post is just a teaser!

Today, I went to the springs.  Hart Springs, to be exact, but all I will post tonight are the flowers I stopped for on the way back from the springs.  You will get more tomorrow, but I wanted to make at least one post before midnight.  After going through the 460 photos I snapped today, I realized that I really must make more than one post.

So, I begin with the flowers by the side of the road that I had to stop and capture on my way back from the springs.  They were so beautiful that I pulled over to the side of the road to take pictures while the farmers and cows laughed at me.  But they were so pretty, all these flowers!

Most of these are probably some sort of vinca (please tell me if I am wrong), but there are so many variations in here.  They seem to grow wild by the edges of cow pastures, in clouds of color.

It is possible that they grow wild in the cow pastures as well, but if they do, they must be pretty tasty.  They all seem to be on the outside of the fences.

When I was a little girl, I would beg my dad to stop the car for my sister and I to pick wildflowers by the side of the road.  Sometimes he would do it, and I would be so happy with my bouquets of wilted Queen Anne’s Lace and buttercups.  Looking at these pictures, I realize how much of that little girl is still part of me.  I just couldn’t resist the flowers!

2 thoughts on “The Flower Fields of Gilchrist County

Leave a Reply

