Flowers everywhere

Of course, as soon as I posted yesterday that there were not many flowers around, I started noticing flowers.  First the azaleas in my own yard, which are huge and bright pink, so I’m not at all sure how I forgot about them yesterday.  This bush is actually taller than my privacy fence, and it isn’t the biggest one around by a long shot.

Yeah, there is a butterfly there, and I know I said I wasn’t going to put any more butterflies in this blog, but I just got all caught up in the thrill of photographing a moving target.  Then I forgot to get one of the azaleas alone, and since I do love them, I had to put the butterfly in, right?

Then as I looked around a little more, I started seeing little flowers, like these pretty purple ones that I thought were wild irises but that my son has assured me are onions.  I didn’t notice any onion smell around them at all, but he’s usually pretty good at things like that, so I’m listening to him this time.  But don’t go writing any horticulture books based on my information.

Maybe in a few weeks I can pull some up and see if he’s right.  Free onions would be a nice thing to have.

Later on, as we were passing by in the car, I saw some wisteria down the road a little way.  Rather than stop and get out, I walked back to find it again.  Wisteria has always been one of my favorite plants of the spring.  Like redbuds, it frequently grows by the side of roads, peeking out through all the green leaves like a sweet surprise.  This is probably American wisteria, which is native.  Other types of wisteria are invasive, although still beautiful.  They will take over huge swaths of land and kill all the other plants.  There are grape leaves mixed in with the wisteria above.

Along the way back to the wisteria, there were all kinds of little flowers, that are mostly weeds and therefore nameless.  I’m sure they have names, but I don’t know what they are.  Some of them are so pretty I really don’t understand why we consider them weeds.

This little pink one looks and smells like a very small sweet pea.  There are many of them in the grass, but I couldn’t find a good cluster of them.  Maybe next week they will be in fuller bloom.  Since I have a soft spot for daisies, I really like these little white and yellow flowers, as long as they aren’t in my own yard.  They are pretty nasty weeds that grow up into thick, woody plants that don’t ever want to go away.  At this stage, they still look all innocent and fresh, which is why they have ever been allowed to grow into the awful weeds they become.

Raspberry canes have their flowers out right now, too, or maybe these are blackberries.  They both grow wild around here, which sounds exciting and lovely until you realize that the birds love them too and they will all be gone before you see them.  Well, maybe not all, but most of them.  Every once in a while a few will ripen before the birds get them.

Last night, as I was walking around the block, I smelled honeysuckles.  Today, I found some.  It’s still early, so most of them are closed and the vines don’t have many on them yet, but aren’t they pretty?  These are one of my favorite flowers of the summer, not so much for their looks, or even their smell, but because of the sweet childhood memories of running through the back yard with my sisters.  We would take the flowers and pull out the stamen to suck the honey out.  Each flower would yield only the smallest bit of honey, but it was so sweet.

It is interesting that not all of the flowers are fresh and young, even this early in the season.  One of my favorites is this thistle.  The leaves are still green, and some of the flowers haven’t opened yet, but others are already going to seed.  I love the white puffs of seeds and the promise of the yellow flowers.

You have probably noticed that it looks a lot like a dandelion, doesn’t it?  I had to have it to balance out that butterfly you saw earlier.

109 thoughts on “Flowers everywhere

  1. I love the butterfly! When God sends you butterflies, it means, “Hope for the feature.” It’s a great sign of encouragement! The flowers are lovely too!
    God Bless You!

  2. You are so much further ahead than we are in France. I think of Wisteria in May and it is cultivated lovingly in the garden! But I can imagine it becoming invasive in the wild.

  3. Hello 😉
    First time that I found your blog and love to read it and to look at all the pictures you’ve taken! When I saw your photo of the flower your son supposed to be an onion, I was wondering it it could be the Tradescantia andersonii. It’s looks like the one in my garden. In German it’s called “Dreimasterblume” and in English I remember a name like “Spiderwort”.
    So again, beautiful pictures and I’d love to come back to read/see more.
    Kind regards
    Michèle

  4. Yay, flowers! Yours are very pretty!
    There are a few starting to bud and bloom around here. I keep looking at gardens when I walk by them in hopes of seeing crocuses, daffodils, tulips, or hyacinths show their colors 🙂

  5. Beautiful photos and flowers — even with the butterfly. I think the flower that your son says is an onion (it’s below the butterfly photo on the right) is Spiderwort, also known as Tradescantia. It’s a perennial native plant. In the meantime, I’ll continue to enjoy your flowers, since we are just starting our bloom time here on Long Island, NY. Feel free to visit my garden blog site. Cheers!

  6. I really like your blog’s subtitle: “Learning to love the state I’m in.” I should keep that in mind–I complain alot about Pensacola, Florida (being a native of Mobile, Alabama), but often fail to notice the good things about it. And I’ve seen all of the pictured flowers above here (as in Mobile–it’s so close), many on my own lawn. They’re all beautiful to see, of course–but wisteria has always been my favorite-smelling flower, followed by gardenias and magnolias.

  7. Lovely photos. The pretty purple flowers you call irises or onions are spiderwort, aka Tradescantia virginiana. They can be propagated by dividing the clumps in the early spring or fall, or by seed. Congratulations – your beautiful Florida flowers helped you get Freshly Pressed.

  8. those little white yellow flowers “weed” are my favourate they used to grow all along the path to my school in ancient walls everywhere ..i have SO many memories attached with them ..they are not found where i live now ..thankq so much for the wonderful memories brought alive 😀

  9. Some really excellent pictures there – though the first few are hands down the nicest looking.

    It’s always nice when the spring comes around and the flowers and plants take on a renewed life and energy, makes life seem brighter and more hopeful again.

    Thanks for sharing, cheers.

  10. I love flowers! You took some great pics! I know the feeling a photographer gets when they manage to snap the perfect pic of a flower.

  11. What lovely flowers! I enjoy flowers too. I especially like the shot where your capture the butterfly on the azalea blossom. What kind of camera/lens do you use? Would you be willing to share some of your techniquest to get these beautiful shots of flowers?

  12. These are gorgeous and congrats on being freshly pressed. I grew up in the southernmost part of Georgia, very similar in climate, so all these so-called-weeds are very familiar. I can shed a little light on the sweetpea-like flower. It is indeed a legume, whose name I can’t remember, but its peas are not edible. People sometimes plant it as a natural way to get nitrogen back into depleted soil, since legumes do that.

  13. These photos are magical, and one can never have too many butterflies!! 🙂

    I’m in the middle of a painting of a fairy toadstool house, and needed inspiration for some butterflies that I’m adding to it. I’m fairy artist from Ireland, and often include butterflies but was experiencing something akin to writers block, albeit in its painting form, but when I stumbled upon your butterfly and flower image, the inspiration started to flow again. The butteflies I’m painting may be a pale, milky blue hue but it was the striking beauty of your butterfly photo that kickstarted my workflow again. Thanks so much!! 🙂

  14. These are such beautiful photographs! I really like how you’ve used relatively ordinary or everyday flowers and made them look so enchanting! Congratulations on making Freshly Pressed, well deserved 🙂

  15. You are right and your son is wrong. They are wild iris! I have lots of them in my yard. They just appeared one day, and they spread like crazy. I keep digging them up and moving them out of the middle of my lawn. LOL

  16. wonderful photos! I have twelve acres in the woods and a huge organic veggy garden north of Tallahassee.I am seeing what you are seeing and it takes your breath away! Thank you.

  17. Wow these are some really great pictures of flowers. Photography is an amazing thing. I love taking pictures. Check out some pictures I have posted on my blog also enter the contest to win an iTunes gift card.

Leave a Reply

