Rainy sunrise

Woke up this morning to the sound of rain on the roof and pink light peeping through the blinds.  It’s been a long time since we had any rain to speak of (last week’s anticipation was never realized), and I knew the light was too good to miss.  I ran out the back door to take a shot or two, then decided to run out front, too.  In my pajamas, with hair uncombed.  I don’t think any of the neighbors saw me, but there’s always the possibility.  The sky is glorious, and behind the fence you can see the rental cranes across the street.  During the day, they position the cranes with their necks up in different poses.  One of these days, I’ll photograph them for you, because although they are odd, there’s something wonderful about them.

In my excitement over the rain and the light (have I mentioned that I love rain?), I snapped a few without realizing I didn’t have autofocus on.  I’m a bit lazy like that, using autofocus for many of my shots.  Because of my glasses, the autofocus often focuses better than I do, especially on expansive shots.  When a precise focal point is necessary, autofocus just doesn’t do the job, so I turn it off.  To my foggy morning brain, it wasn’t obvious that the camera was not focusing.  The lack of sound from focusing should have tipped me off by the second shot, but it didn’t.  I was not happy when I realized what I had done, because the light was changing quickly.  Some of the shots were ruined, and who knows how long I’ll have to wait for another chance of light like this?

This odd combination of plants, a maple growing up through a palm, was there when we bought the house, and I’m afraid it would be impossible to move one without destroying it, so I’ve left it.  If anyone out there with better gardening sense knows how to do that safely, feel free to let me know.  Until then, they’ll stay like this.  They seem to be thriving in their strangely symbiotic relationship.  And in this light, they seem to be glowing.  The rain was hard enough to give the palm fronds some movement, which softens some of their usual spikiness.  The curves of the fronds on the right of the tree always fascinate me.  They look so graceful and much more delicate than they actually are.

The leaves on this little maple tree, a volunteer that we didn’t catch an transplant before it had grown enough to want to be undisturbed, were incredibly vibrant in this early morning light.  The neighbor’s much larger maple tree looked like a painting in the combination of early light and rain.  You probably didn’t realize that Florida has so many maple trees.  After all, we don’t produce any syrup.  There are many types of maples, though, and these red maples are very hardy down here.  Even if they were the right type to produce syrup, they wouldn’t produce much in this warm climate.  In order to get a good maple run, the weather has to get cold for an extended period.

Perhaps it’s not my greatest work, but after going out in my pajamas, I’ve got to post it, right?

Leave a Reply

