In which I am sorely disappointed

This morning I woke up thinking about where I might go today.  Tebow’s playing this afternoon, so I briefly thought of doing something to celebrate his Gatorness, but the stadium and his Heisman trophy just aren’t things that make me happy.  I’m glad they’re there, and it’s a lot of fun to go to a game in the stadium, but they just don’t bring me a sense of satisfaction.  So I decided to go on an architecture quest.  The only problem is, I didn’t think through either the direction of the sun or what I needed in a lens.  For some reason, I left my 18-55 mm at home when I headed out to photograph my two favorite houses in Gainesville.  So, I’m leading with a picture of my lake, because it makes me happy.  Even though I couldn’t find a gator in there tonight.

When I got there, I realized that the light was all wrong.  The house I really wanted to catch was in shadows.  Not terribly photogenic.  This edge was the only photo I was happy with.  Sometimes the small things are what you have to cling to.

The house next door, which I also love, wasn’t much better.  It was sunnier, but the lighting just wasn’t right.  They always have yard art out, though, which worked a little better.  In this case, when I say “yard art” there is an emphasis on the “art.”  I don’t always like it, but it is intriguing.  Each piece stays out for a few months, then disappears and another one takes its place.  The light might not be perfect, but seeing a moose in Florida makes me happy enough to not even worry about that.

The story was the same all through the neighborhood.  Gainesville is full of nice mid-century modern houses, probably because UF has a pretty good architecture program.  The nearness to Sarasota probably helped a bit as well.  Many of the houses have been bastardized within inches of their lives, but there are enough of them left to notice.  Although I didn’t have much luck with the lighting, there were a few moments that illustrate the beauty of the neighborhood.  Beams that cast shadows on the entrance to a house transform it from ordinary to wonderful.  Palm trees accentuate the entrance to a house, with the wonderful concrete screen further enhancing it.  The concrete screens are something extraordinary in themselves, and could probably be the subject of several posts.  They’ve fallen out of favor, probably largely because the concrete block homes they were used on tend to be small and have come to be seen as houses for the poor.  That’s a shame, because concrete block and these screens can be quite nice.

Leave a Reply

